Too Faced–Not So Vegan

This past weekend, I went to Ulta on a mission: to find a lip pencil!  Specifically one that would stop the feathering of my lip tar from Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics.  Once inside, I booked it to the make-up section to see if anything sparked my “vegan” bell.  Low and behold, there was Too Faced!

Immediately I snatched my phone out of my bag and searched for “too faced vegan.”  What came up was their FAQ page, of which one of the questions clearly listed all of their vegan-friendly products.  Included on this list was the “Borderline Anti-feathering Lip Pencil.”  Bingo!  I then checked the price tag and that “bingo” went to an “ouch.”  A tiny lip pencil for $18.50 is a bit pricy in my book, but I figured, hey, when am I going to find another lip pencil that also is vegan-friendly?  So, I picked it up, checked out, and left.  Jump to the next day–

I woke up, showered, and began to do my make-up.  I was so excited to use this product because it meant my lipstick would be on point!  So, I happily used it knowing it was vegan.  Or was it?
Later that night, I figured I’d check the ingredients on the box just to double check (I didn’t do this in-store because it was mentioned on Too Faced’s FAQ list).  Well, fortunately the doubt in my head grabbed hold of me because I then found out that no, this product is in fact, NOT vegan.  It contained beeswax!

  
I’m sure you can imagine my frustration upon finding this out.  Both for not double checking the ingredients in the store and for the inaccurate listing of vegan-friendly products.  I immedately sat down to contact them.

I wrote on their Facebook page, sent them an email, and contacted them on Twitter.  Unofrtuantely I have yet to hear back from them.  As of right now, based on the fact that they’ve had a decent amount of time to at least acknowedge my issue, I am not impressed with Too Faced.  I wil be sure to update my readers as soon as I recieve a response regarding this issue.  Until then, be wary of Too Faced’s “vegan-friendly” products and make sure to double- and triple-check the ingredients before putting them in your basket.

Until I hear back from this company, this is all I have to say about this propblem.  Be wary of your cosmetics’ ingredients.

4 thoughts on “Too Faced–Not So Vegan

  1. I have been avoiding Too Faced because of these types of issues, I have also contacted them a few time inquiring about their products..very slow response and not really clear on their answers to the ones they chose to answer… I am so glad you found this out…
    just started following you, I have a vegan recipe/lifestyle & Cruelty-free beauty Blog as well, http://www.veganneeds.com
    so glad I found your blog & Happy to connect with you 🙂

    Like

      1. I really wanted to like them, too! I was excited to have a more “premium” cosmetic option at a local store, rather than completely having to rely on online-based make-up companies. You are very welcome! I look forward to reading your post about them, too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

