What I’ve Been Reading

Hey, y’all!  How have my readers been doing lately?  I realize it’s been some time since I’ve last written, but I am finally back.  Within the past two weeks, Zach and I have been searching for a place to live next, summer classes have started, and life has flown by!  My summer class for the first five-week term is Spanish.  Since it’s only a five-week course, we meet Monday through Friday for two-and-a-half hours a day.  Now, that is quite the whirlwind of Spanish.  Fortunately, my professor is incredibly bubbly and is extremely excited to be teaching us Spanish.  Other than classes, my main forms of entertainment have been reading articles and listening to podcasts online, specifically those with a feminist lens.  The following are some of my favorite that I’ve read recently.

Bitch Media’s review of “Spy”

Popaganda: Hollywood’s Missing Directors

 John Stewart + Caitlyn Jenner

Mark Ruffalo and feminism

“The Ecofeminism of Mad Max”

Mad Max U.S. Poster. From Bing Images

Popaganda: Guilty Pleasures

“What the New Rules of Birth Control Mean for You”

“The Importance in Acknowledging the Spectrum of Sexuality”

“Gender, Just Like Sexuality, is a Spectrum”

Those last two articles were written by one of my lovely friends, Caitlin.  She’s a wonderful writer and I’m really glad she decided to write those two articles over extremely important topics–Sexuality v. Gender.

I hope you like each of the articles and podcasts above.  Is there any feminist literature you’ve been reading lately that you’d like to share?  If so, put it in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

