Friday Morning Thoughts

I woke up to the low rumbles of thunder in the distance mixed with the relaxing pitter-patter of rain hitting my window.  My thoughts came slow to me at first, but one of the biggest ones was: “I wish they cancelled classes for rain days, too.”  All I want to do today is lie in my cozy, warm bed with a cup of coffee and a great book.  While I enjoyed the few minutes I got to just relax and listen to the music happening right outside my window, I eventually did have to get up and begin getting ready for the day ahead of  me.

"Foofy Coffee" by Jenny Reiswig
“Foofy Coffee” by Jenny Reiswig

I have to go to work today but, I don’t go in until later, so I at least get the morning to myself to work on school stuff at my own pace.  My desk is positioned next to the reading nook and window in the loft portion of my apartment.  As I’m typing this, I’m taking a few minutes every so often to take a sip of my sweet and comforting cup o’ joe and look outside.  I wish this morning could be extended until the day, but alas, I will eventually have to leave the warmth of my apartment and embrace the rain.

This past week has been full of bright and sunny days, giving me plenty of time outside to enjoy the nice weather.  Over this past week, I have also found some very funny and/or interesting things that I figured I would pass on to you.

1. The Mugdown- “Why Liberal Arts is Super Dumb”

The Mugdown is Texas A&M’s satirical newspaper that my consultant at the University Writing Center told me about.  This piece is absolutely hilarious.  If you’re a liberal arts major or know someone who is a liberal arts major, I definitely recommend spending just a few minutes to read this piece.

2. Book Riot: “Five Small Press Books to Read in April” Cover for Apocalypse Baby from FeministPress.org

Each of these books sound like really great reads.  I definitely want to read the first one on their list, Apocalypse Baby. I even submit a request for one of the campus libraries to purchase it so I could read it, as well as other students.

3. Liza Anne, Musician

I have really been getting into Liza Anne’s music lately.  It’s great music to just sit back and chill to, especially early in the morning or late at night.  She currently has two singles and one full-length album, The Colder Months.  10/10 would recommend.

Well, that’s all for now.  I’m going to go brew myself another cup of coffee and get started on some school work.  I hope you have a great Friday!  If you have anything you’ve seen that you want to share, feel free to post it in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

