Getting Back Into That School-Grind

It is Monday.  The first Monday back at school and work.  I can’t believe spring break passed by so quickly!  I guess I really was having fun and enjoying this past week!  To recap, Zach and I visited my hometown and went to Six Flags with my younger brother, we spent some time with his parents, visited some friends in San Marcos, and enjoyed a few quiet days here in College Station.  Now it’s back to work and school and I’m not too happy about it, although I’m going to make the best of it!

One of the parks we visited w/ friends in San Marcos, TX.
One of the parks we visited w/ friends in San Marcos, TX.

Being an English major in two writing-intensive classes, the return from spring break means that it’s time to start on final projects.  One of my proposals is due today and another is due later on, which means that this is going to be the busier part of the term (and I thought the first half was pretty darn busy)!  For my other writing-intensive class, we’re currently reading Salman Rushdie’s The Satanic Verses.  Right now I think I’m liking the novel, but I have just now gotten through part one, so we’ll have to see if that changes.

In my other classes, I’m also going to have to start reading more.  Fortunately I got ahead over the break in one of my classes, which was to read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep.  I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and am super glad it was assigned because I probably would not have picked it up otherwise.  If you’re in to science fiction, I’d definitely give it a shot!

I also have an exam tomorrow, which meant that I needed to study quite a bit over spring break. I’m still not looking forward to having to take an exam right off the bat, as I wouldn’t for any class.  However, it is for my Women’s and Gender Studies class and I love the material that this exam will be over.  Even though exams give me anxiety, I don’t mind them for this class as much because the content is so interesting.

Finally, I have work starting back up this week, too.  I have a feeling the first couple of days are going to be pretty busy, since we were closed the past few days, but I’m looking forward to seeing my co-workers again (not to mention getting decent paychecks).  Working and going to school is pretty tough, but this semester has definitely taught me some skills that I needed that can’t be taught in a classroom.

Since this is the first week back, I have set a few goals for myself:

1. Drink plenty of water and eat healthy meals.  I think this is vital to making this transition easy, since eating and drinking well enough tends to slip through the gaps when my life gets hectic again.

2. Realize it’s okay to mess up.  It’s the first week back.  It’s going to take a day or two to get completely back on track and I need to be okay with that!  I need to just keep repeating to myself that “I’m only human,” while also practicing radical acceptance.

3. Enjoy.  One of my biggest focuses will be to not be too hard on myself.  I need to remember to allow myself time to hang out with friends and relax.  Even though the term is starting back up, it doesn’t mean that I can’t have a social life.  I’m going to work in hanging out with a few friends this week, which will make this transition from break-to-school easier.

From Kate B.'s Flickr.
From Kate B.’s Flickr.

Well, it’s time now for me to get started back on homework and preparing for my classes for the day, so I am off to go get started.  I hope all of my readers have a wonderful week back!  If you have any goals you’ve set for yourself this week and want to share them, put them in the comments below!  I’d love to hear them!

4 thoughts on “Getting Back Into That School-Grind

Leave a Reply

