Sister Outsider: Their Visit to Texas A&M

Hello, all!  Earlier this week, I had the amazing privilege to see Sister Outsider perform their poetry on campus.  Sister Outsider consists of Dominique Christina and Denice Frohman, two of the best three female slam poets in the entire world.  Yeah, that’s right.  Texas A&M University brought these amazing two individuals, whom are some of the best in the world, to perform for the students.

Sister Outsider at Carelton College. Photo from SisterOutsiderPoetry.com

The event took place this past Tuesday at the Rudder Theater in the evening.  It was a two hour event, but that time flew right on by!  I enjoyed myself and was really moved by what they had to say.  From the second they stepped on stage, they made sure the event had an intimate feel to it–from talking to joking around with us, it really helped to get the audience (me, included) to be engaged with their message of the need for social change.

Sister Outsider uses the issues of LGBTQ issues, race, and gender to advocate and show the audience the need for social activism.  Using their personal experiences as a platform to express the issues that need fixing, the audience immediately feels connected to them.  This connection is vital in the feeling one gets upon leaving the event–inspiration.

Motivation and inspiration are such an important message that Dominique and Denice provide the audience.  Through their spoken word performance, one begins to feel that they are important, too.  That they don’t have to be sidelined because of their identity/sexual orientation/race.  That they get to be the main character in their life, not just in the background.  Upon stepping out of that theater, I felt the need to contribute more to society, to really use all that I can in order to help advocate and promote social change.  So the thing I think I need to say most about this performance is:

Thank you Dominique and Denice.  Thank you for the inspiration that you have provided me.  Thank you for helping me to realize that I can help society and that I am not just another pawn on the chess board, but a Queen.  A Queen of my own life.  Thank you.

If you would like to see them perform, here’s a video for you to check out below.

I will leave you with a quote that I found on their website that will be sitting in my heart and my head for the rest of the day.

“When I dare to be powerful – to use my strength in the service of my vision,
then it becomes less and less important whether I am afraid.” -Audre Lorde

Leave a Reply

