Self-Care: Important to Stay on Top Of

How many of you have had days, weeks, or even months of just feeling terrible and then after something small, you all of a sudden feel better?  I know I occasionally have periods like that when I forget to do little things for myself.  Self-care is such an important aspect of keeping yourself healthy, both physically and mentally.  Here are some of the things I do as self-care:

1. “Spoil” myself with something I actually like.  For me, I love coffee.  Especially coffee from Stumptown Coffee Roasters or Brooklyn Roasting Co.  Getting my day started off with a good cup makes my attitude improve.  I’m allowing myself to “treat my self” without getting something extravagant or ridiculously expensive/time-consuming.

Coffee with varying amounts of milk/cream. From Aschiavo500’s Flickr.

2.  Take a warm bath/shower.  This is something that is incredibly relaxing for me.  At the end of a long week, I love to take a nice and warm bubble bath while reading a book (for pleasure, not for school).  Just the 30 to 45 minutes of “me time” is wonderful to my mental attitude.

3.  Eating healthy, while also allowing some treats.  I always try to eat balanced meals–ones that contain plenty of protein and healthy fats (Bean burritos w/ avocado, anyone?), which really help me feel great, physically.  The healthy fats and protein also really help my brain to process thoughts clearly and to retain information, which is extremely helpful during the semester.  But even though it’s good to eat healthy, allowing yourself some sweets are also a part of healthy eating.  Whether it’s a few Oreos here and there or a brownie for dessert, it’s good to give yourself something you really enjoy, too.  It’s all about balance and moderation.

4.  Writing.  I love to write.  Even though Moleskine notebooks are on the pricey side, it feels like an indulgence every time I use it.  When writing in my journal, I don’t do any sort of creative writing; I use my Moleskine simply for writing about my day and allowing myself time to process my emotions and thoughts that I had throughout that day.  For me, it’s an incredible release and allows me to be more at peace right before I go to bed.

   Well, there you have it.  Those are 4 of the things I do in an effort to consciously make sure I am taking care of myself.  Do you do any other things as self-care?  If so, share them in the comments below!

One thought on “Self-Care: Important to Stay on Top Of

Leave a Reply

