Recipe: Vegan Biscuits

   I hope your last morning of 2014 is going well.  I know mine is, since mine started off with some homemade biscuits and coffee!  I love baking and one can never go wrong with biscuits.  The recipe that I use is “The Best Damn Vegan Biscuits” from Minimalist Baker.  Although, I make a three slight modifications:

1) I use whole wheat flour for 1 c. and then all-purpose flour for the other cup.

2) I add 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon

3) I use soy milk instead of almond milk

biscuits
Finished product, complete with grape jam

   I usually like to add the whole wheat flour, since it adds a bit “healthier” of a spin to it.  Although, if you do happen to do this, you may need to add a bit more non-dairy milk than if just using the full 2 c. of all-purpose flour.  I also add the 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon because I love the flavor that cinnamon adds to baked goods.  I also use soy milk instead of almond milk because of the (very) slight taste difference in the finished product and because that’s usually what I have on-hand anyways.

   So, give ’em a go!

Leave a Reply

